2014 Zooma Chicago

This would best be described as it was the best of halfs, it was the worst of halfs.  Originally this was scheduled for another weekend, and not the weekend directly after San Fran.  But I have done halfs on back to back weekends so I thought I might as well go for it.

I can’t tell you about the expo because I did not make it.  My plan, had been to make for the last little bit but my plane was late.  Fortunately, there was an option to have your packet mailed to you, which I chose, because you never know…

I stayed at the host hotel and was able to take the shuttle over to the race site.  Because I have time issues, I got there super early and was able to watch the sun come up.  Wow, what a sight!

Good Morning sunshine

Good Morning sunshine

Finally it was go time!

Almost GO time1

Almost GO time

I started out fast (as usual) but was able to keep it up.  This was the start of the good half.  So good, that I thought about switching to the 10K and getting a real PR!

The course was along the Lakeshore Trail, which meant there were users, but I think we were all able to share fairly well.  Lake Michigan was within sight for the most of the course and absolutely gorgeous.  I love running by water!  Water also meant a nice breeze as it was getting warm, but the breeze tempered it.

View from later in the day

View from later in the day

I passed the 10K turn off, still determined to do the half and still feeling pretty good.  That feeling would not last long.

I don’t know if it was the heat (it wasn’t ridiculously hot – maybe low 70’s), the lack of sleep from the week before, or that it just wasn’t my day.  I don’t know that I’ve ever hit the proverbial wall before but I’m pretty sure I hit it yesterday.  I shuffled along, one foot after the other, repeating all the positive mantras I could think of.

The field had significantly thinned out and at times I couldn’t anyone in front of me from the race.   It was probably the most painful last half of a race that I have ever had.  Or that I can remember.

I was so happy when I finally saw the last curve, followed by the 13 mile sign and the volunteer waving us into the finish chute.

My time?  After all that, I bet you are wondering about my time.  I was too – as always my baseline goal is to finish, and my next level is to finish in under 3 hours.  I finished, always a good thing and I finished in 3:00.14 – not quite under, but not quite over.  I’ll take that!

Done

Done

New bling

New bling

This entry was posted in Race Report and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to 2014 Zooma Chicago

  1. Jaime says:

    I had that same experience during the half during Dumbo and GSC. I really thought PRs were in my future (or at least a decent time) until mile 6 for both races. My legs just quit wanting to go. Sorry your race was tough, but you still ended well! And you were in my hometown. I have yet to race anything in Chicago. Maybe one year I’ll do the Chicago marathon.

    • Emily says:

      I didn’t realize Chicago was your hometown! It was a fun city to run in – you should definitely race there someday. Maybe not in the summer though.

  2. kebe51 says:

    Looks like some amazing scenery for that race! A finish is a finish! and congratulations of pushing through the wall and getting to the finish line! Woohoo!

  3. Congrats on getting through! I think we’ve all been there when we think the race is going one way, but end up going another. Your pics remind me how much I used to love running along the lakefront in Chicago. My family used to live in the city and I’d run there whenever I visited, but they’ve since moved away.

    • Emily says:

      Running in Chicago was amazing! I just loved running by the water – its one of the things I miss the most being in St Louis. And the Chicago skyline was such a great backdrop.

  4. dnardi710 says:

    I keep hearing how amazing Chicago is, I’ll really need to try to get out there for a race sometime!

    And good job pushing through that tough second half, there’s nothing worse than just wanting a run to be over with!

Leave a Reply

