Villains Unleashed Party

Also known as my super quick trip to Walt Disney World the week before I go to Disneyland.  Why yes, I am having my own coast to coast challenge over back to back weekends!  How did this happen?  Well there was the email announcing the party, and then there was the text exchange wondering if we could go.  After checking calendars and ticket availability, it was a go!!  It was going to be a quick trip due to jobs and vacation, but it was still a trip to my happy place to see a few of my favorite people!

Love these girls!

Love these girls!

Next up was costumes.  The theme of the party was Villains, but that is just a suggestion, right?  In the end, we decided we would be Dalmatian puppies.  (And since we were technically “good”, we were a hit with the baddies – I might even say by the end we were celebrities – several Cruellas stopped us for a picture.)

Costume preview

Costume preview

My only other goal for the weekend (besides eating Mickey ice cream of course) was to ride the new Mine Train.  We were able to score a fast pass for later on Saturday (right before we’d head over to Hollywood for the party).

Starbucks & Disney

Starbucks & Disney

The morning was spent riding favorites (Peter Pan, Big Thunder, Pirates, Haunted Mansion among others) and eating lunch at Be Our Guest.

Try the grey stuff!

Try the grey stuff!

It was getting close to fast pass time when KA-BOOM!  Thunder and lightening came through.  Oh no!  I was not going to be thwarted by the weather.  I had a fast pass to use.  Fortunately we were able to wait out the weather and go on my new favorite ride.  It was so smooth – a cross between Barnstormer and Big Thunder.  I absolutely loved it!!

My new fave ride!

My new fave ride!

With that it was party time!!  Not having been able to attend Mickey’s Not So Scary for a few years, I was very excited for this party.  And while this was the first Villains party, it was not Disney’s first party so I had high expectations, which were sadly not met.  We had to hunt for the party map, there was conflicting information about what was happening versus what wasn’t and the character lines were absolutely ridiculous.  Since we were puppies, we wanted our picture with Cruella.  The line ended up being over an hour and was pretty much all we were able to do.   We tried to multitask while in line and sent scouts out to see the party merchandise.  While scouting, we were told all party specific merchandise was sold out.  Boo.  I wasn’t super impressed with the merch that I saw online, but I at least wanted, no, needed a party pin!

Cruella & her puppies

Cruella & her puppies

So all in all, the party was fun could have been way improved – better communication of what is open and when and what is “special” (i.e. it was not a special Villains Fantasmic), an easily accessible party map, more merch (both available and types of merch), and somehow ease the congestion of the character lines.  Cruella’s line was ridiculously long but so was every other villain.  What I like about previous parties I’ve been at is how many character pics I’ve been able to get.

Villainous Fireworks

Villainous Fireworks

Would I go again?  Oh for sure.  I’d give them a year to work out the kinks.  In fact, we talked about making this an annual trip!  And, on our way out, we found a spot where they had a few pins left for sale.  So I got my pin.  Whew!!

Sunday, we did a quick trip to Animal Kingdom before saying “see ya real soon”!

See ya real soon

See ya real soon

This entry was posted in Disney and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Villains Unleashed Party

  1. kebe51 says:

    SOOOOOOOOOO jealous! Sorry the party didn’t match the expectations, but hey, at least you were in DISNEY WORLD! And now you’re off to DISNEYLAND?!?! Jealous does not even begin to cover it!

    • Emily says:

      Right? I’m a little jealous of myself! It was definitely a very fun time and the good thing is Disney does seem to listen to feedback and try to improve.

  2. Love the puppy costumes! Love that you’re doing back-to-back Disney trips. Have fun in Disneyland!

    • Emily says:

      Thanks!! Its funny how the back to back worked out but it fun. Of course with the subtle differences between the two I slightly confused at times as to where I was! 🙂

  3. Jaime says:

    Looks like a lot of fun!! I’m jonesing for Some Disney Park action since I’m sitting out DL Half for the first time in five years! Love the Dalmatian costumes- they would be good for a race costume!

  4. Abby says:

    I heard so many disappointed people about the party, but I’m glad you had fun!

    • Emily says:

      There is definitely a lot of room for improvement, but still its Disney! It can’t be that bad! Plus they do seem to listen to feedback and try to improve.

  5. dnardi710 says:

    I love that you did coast-to-coast Disney trips, I’d love to do that one day! I’d also like to check out the Villains Unleashed Party one year, hopefully they work out some of the kinks!

    • Emily says:

      That’s the good thing about Disney – they do seem to listen to the feedback and make changes based on it. It definitely has potential – I think a lot of the problems would have been solved if they had limited the tickets they sold.

Leave a Reply

