Dumbo Double Dare 2014: Disneyland 10K

I’m pretty sure after last year’s ridiculously hot and humid Dumbo Double Dare weekend I swore off doing the race EVER again.  Especially the challenge.  And yet, I found myself signing up again.  Why?  I’m not sure, except the Disneyland 10K course is really fantastic, with most of it taking place in the parks.  And I had to do the half because of my insane idea to 14 halfs in 2014.

Fortunately it was not nearly as humid as it was last year.  Whew!  It was also not nearly as clusteriffic as the 5K was moved to Friday, rather than having both races on Saturday.  But that also meant an earlier wake-up call.

I made my way to my corral.  I hadn’t put a lot of thought into a costume until the week before.  Since it was a Stitch themed race, and more importantly, I had a red(ish) shirt to pair with my green Sparkle Athletic skirt, I was able to have a Lilo inspired costume.  I was not the only one with this costume idea.

Lilo ready to go

Lilo ready to go

And soon we were off!  Generally I start off way too fast, but it was a little harder this time as it was super crowded and there was a lot of weaving involved.  But – get this!  I RAN the entire first mile – no stopping!!  First time I have done that in a race since I hurt my knee!

After the first two miles we were back on Disney property.  This is really one of my favorite races because of how much time we spend in the parks.  Through California Adventures and over to Disneyland.

I love World of Color

I love World of Color

I do have to say I was disappointed in the character stops, or lack thereof.   And because there weren’t a lot of characters, the lines were ridiculously long.   Chip & Dale were out, dressed as a cop & robber, which I really wanted to stop for.  But I couldn’t even justify that one stop.  I finally stopped at a float so I could get at least one picture and then at Mile Marker 5.

Hang Loose

Hang Loose

I ran into Pam right after Mile 5 (I ran with her at the Princess 10K earlier this year) and we finished the race together.  Part of what makes these races so fun is the friends you make along the way!

Running through Downtown Disney was fantastic with all the spectators cheering.  And there was the finish line!!  Part 1 of the challenge was complete.

My attempt to hang loose

My attempt to hang loose

Mmm Dole Whip!

Mmm Dole Whip!

This entry was posted in Race Report, runDisney and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Dumbo Double Dare 2014: Disneyland 10K

  1. kebe51 says:

    Jealous! Jealous! Jealous! I wish I had done this this year, but I’m doing it next year! Woohoo!

    And yay for first mile running! Go you! Woot! Can’t wait to read about the half…

  2. Jaime says:

    Running through Down Town Disney is great, I love that! Glad the weather was better. Last year was the WORST.

    • Emily says:

      It was so much better!! Last year was so bad! I really do love running through DTD – all the people cheering are fantastic!

  3. Abby says:

    So bummed about the lack of characters! But glad you still had fun!

    • Emily says:

      Yeah, I really expected more – last year there were so many characters!! And even at Princess there were a lot of characters. Not sure why they weren’t at this race.

  4. Congrats! Love that Dole Whip!

  5. dnardi710 says:

    I agree, I was really disappointed with the lack of character stops during this race! You’d think runDisney would understand that’s why people run their races and have out more characters so the lines are insane!

Leave a Reply

