2014 St Louis Rock ‘N’ Roll Half Marathon

Let’s forget the fact that I’m a couple of recaps behind and skip right to today’s recap.  Okay?

Well, maybe we’ll take one tiny step back to yesterday.  It was the inaugural St Louis RnR Remix challenge, which meant you could collect three medals for running the 5K on Saturday and again on Sunday.

2014-10-18 07.37.10

Hello STL

I woke up to a beautiful Saturday morning.  Somehow I convinced my BFF Jessica to run (or she has been suckered in by the skirts, the bling, and the chocolate milk).  The weather was perfect – sunny, but not too warm.

Feet pic

Feet pic

The race was mainly downtown, with one water stop.  We did 1 min run / 2 min walk intervals.  And before you knew it, we were rounding the corner and heading for the finish line!  Part 1 of the Remix Challenge complete!

Medal & a cake

Medal & a cake

Sunday morning was a feeling of deja vu, except an hour earlier.  I had no expectations going into this race, as has been my M.O. lately.  Late hours which lead to bad sleeping and eating habits.  However, I’ve been #streakingwiththecoolkids lately.  What is that you ask?  Well it means I’m running (or walking) a mile each day for the month of October.  And surprisingly, I have not missed a day (so far).  Most days I only do a mile.  But I did wonder if the consistent running would help.

Good morning STL

Good morning STL

The sun was just starting to come up as we started off towards the Arch.

Here we go

Here we go

Through downtown we went.  As per usual, I started off too fast – case in point, I kept up with the 2:30 pace group for the first two miles before I slowly watched them pull away.

The first few miles went fast.  Actually, the first half went fairly fast.  Heading towards Mile 6 I saw a sign that said “Go Emily Go”.  Of course that sign was just for me, right?

While I did slow down, I kept seeing the miles ticking off in the 12’s.  I figured I was building a cushion.  Not once did a PR cross my mind – I was just building a bank for the impending collapse.  I had already wrote the ending of this race.

Mile 9 came and I tried doing race math.  Have I mentioned race math is not a forte of mine?  I hit Mile 9 around 1:50.  In my head I was thinking I had 5 miles left which meant I still had to keep hitting 12’s.  And then it dawned on me, I only had 4 miles left!!  I was close to golden, even with a giant collapse.

It was probably right here where I lost any chance of a PR.  Realizing I was going to finish in under 3 hours (barring a ridiculous collapse), made me take my foot off the gas, so to speak.

There was a decent downhill as inched closer towards the finish.  But then there was the incline never ended.  At one point, I looked at my watch and realized how close I could be to a PR.  But I could not find the go button.  Finally the finish line was actually in sight.  I did not have a finishing kick, but slow and steady got me across the line.

My time?  2:49.57!  I’d say that’s under 3 hours!

I definitely think consistently running (or walking) a mile every day contributed to my time.  As well as the fact I KT taped the heck out of my legs.  I’ve been a KT tape believer for a long time, but usually I only KT tape one or two areas (why, I don’t know).  Today, however, I taped both ankles, my right knee and my left hip.  While my legs felt heavy towards the end, the nagging pain I’ve been dealing with was nowhere to be seen.

Done!

Done!

And there you have it!  Half No 13 in 2014.  One more to go.

Oooh, pretty

Oooh, pretty

 

This entry was posted in Race Report and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to 2014 St Louis Rock ‘N’ Roll Half Marathon

  1. kebe51 says:

    Woohoo! Way to go Emily! Congrats on an awesome race! 🙂

  2. Abby says:

    Congrats, lady! Those medals are awesome. What’s your next one?

    • Emily says:

      I know – the medals were fantastic!! I really liked the 5K one. Last half was today (because I’m shockingly behind in everything right now) – St Louis Half (a local race).

  3. I’m a bunch of recaps behind too! Congrats on a great race! That’s WAY under 3! I’m terrible at running math, too, especially mid-race.

    • Emily says:

      Thanks!! Being that far under was definitely a confidence booster. Someday I’ll get back to actually training for a race.

Leave a Reply

