Turks & Caicos 2014

A long time ago, you would never catch me wanting to go on a relaxing, beach vacation.  You could chalk up the reluctance to a number of things, but the chief reason being I’m fair-skinned and burn quite easily.  That, and my low self-esteem and poor body image do not like to be seen in a bathing suit in public.

But then I went on a beach vacation where I got a pretty nasty sunburn.  However, I learned that yes, even though I will probably get sunburned a little, I can keep reapplying sunscreen, there will be shade, and there’s nothing wrong in covering up or hiding under a blanket.  I also learned that once I’m at the beach, the body issues fade away, because, hey – I’m at the beach!

Fruity Drink O'Clock

Fruity Drink O’Clock

Normally a beach vacation would not be my big vacation for the year.  But with less vacation days, this year’s big vacation became a beach vacation.  It ended up a girls’ trip with Jessica & Nilufer & me.

Ice cream on the beach

Ice cream on the beach

Where to go?  We started out looking at Belize and I think we may have ended up looking at almost every island in the Caribbean before settling on Turks & Caicos.

Fort George Cay

Fort George Cay

Finally it was time!!  We arrived to pouring rain.  What?!!  No!  Are we going to spend our beach vacation inside?

After dropping our bags and checking out our room, we were able to book last minute massages to pass the time and avoid the rain.  Fortunately when our massages were done, we stepped outside to no rain!

Our days became fairly routine.  I was generally the first to wake up and would often find myself out on the balcony to enjoy the sun waking up.

Once everyone was up, we would head to the gym.  Yup, the gym.  Jessica & I are doing a T25 challenge & convinced Nilufer she wanted to do it too!  Which she agreed, but only if after we could do a “quick” WOD (she is the Cross Fitter of the group).  And then we would head to the beach for a mile-ish run/walk.

Running on the beach

Running on the beach

By this time it was around 8 a.m. or so.  The sun set fairly early so we were early to rise to take advantage of the daylight.

Sunset

Sunset

Since we had a kitchen in our room, we’d usually have breakfast on our balcony.

Breakfast on the balcony

Breakfast on the balcony

Then it was time to head to the beach!  Or the pool  Some days it was both.  And we’d park ourselves until it would get dark.

Relaxing at the beach

Relaxing at the beach

We did venture out one day on a tour to Middle & North Caicos for some snorkeling and cave exploring.  We even ate fresh lobster on the beach!

Mmm, lobster

Mmm, lobster

The time went by way too fast, but it was a great trip.  When can we go again??

Rainbow!!

Rainbow!!

This entry was posted in Travel, Trip Report and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Turks & Caicos 2014

  1. kebe51 says:

    Next time you are packing me in your suitcase. OK, we should probably meet IRL first, but THEN you are totally packing me in your suitcase.

  2. Jaime says:

    Amazing pictures!! I always have anxiety about beach vacations due to poor body image, which is a shame because I love the water. I loved following you on Instagram while you were there!

Leave a Reply

