2015 Princess Half Marathon

The Princess Half is one of my all-time favorite races.  It was the race that started me on my running journey.  It will always hold a special place in my heart.

The best part of the morning was the announcement of a race coming to Paris Disneyland!!  BEST NEWS EVER!!  It has been several years since I’ve been to Paris and what better excuse than a Disney race to go back?  Pain au chocolats, croissants, croque monsieurs, and sparkly Eiffel Towers here I come!!

Paris Disneyland

Paris Disneyland

I found the lovely Abby and her sister and decided to stick with them for the race.  It had warmed up slightly from the 10K but it was still on the cool side (much better than the humidity of last year).

Here we go

Here we go

We started off doing 1:1s.  The miles actually ticked off fairly quickly.  It’s amazing what conversation (and dodging princesses) will do move time along.  Before you knew it, we were coming up on the entrance to the Magic Kingdom!

Magic Kingdom here I come!

Magic Kingdom here I come!

As I passed by the extremely long line for the villains, I thought to myself, I want to get fast enough that I can some day stand in a short-ish line for the villains!!

And soon we were heading towards Main Street – my favorite part of any Disney race!!!

My happy place

My happy place

Going through the castle was extremely crowded.  I split from Abby as I wanted to get my castle picture.

Castle pic!

Castle pic!

Coming out of the Magic Kingdom, it was super crowded.  More so than I can ever remember.  There was also a DJ around the half-way mark.  I don’t remember one from past years and from the little I heard he was hilarious!

Finally I caught back up to Abby.  And just in time to take a picture with Genie in his vacation clothes!

Vacation Genie!!

Vacation Genie!!

After not taking a picture with the princes for my first several races, it is now my favorite picture to take!  Ahead of us in line was the best group of “princesses” ever!!  We had seen them a couple of times along the way and they were constantly getting stopped for pictures.  Seriously they were amazing!  And when they took their picture with the princes, you can bet everyone else around was trying to take their picture as well (including me).  They seemed so nice and gracious.

Princesses & Princes

Princesses & Princes

The road into Epcot became super crowded and hard to manoeuver but that’s okay because we were almost done.

Past the gospel choir and through the finisher’s chute!!  It was such a great race!

Done!

Done!

This entry was posted in Race Report, runDisney and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to 2015 Princess Half Marathon

  1. kebe51 says:

    It’s so funny, I have such a love/hate relationship with this race! It was my first race so I feel the “I HAVE TO REGISTER” pangs for it, but at the same time, I’m not crazy about the course and all those women! Oy! But this year was pretty enjoyable actually…and of course I’ll be back next year. See you there?

    P.S. So jealous you got to see those “Princesses” on the course! I only got to see the pictures of them after the fact!

    • Emily says:

      Definitely see you there!! I keep swearing I won’t ever do it again, and yet I find myself signing up year after year!

Leave a Reply

