On Sabbatical

This post has been a long time in coming.  I have probably written it my head 100 times but have never wanted to actually put it down until it was a reality.  It is no secret I haven’t been happy (more so on the job front) since I moved to St Louis.  I’ve been working a ridiculous amount, gained weight, and gotten slower (even though the number of races I participate in have increased).  I’ve gone from a fairly happy person to one who is struggling with bitterness and anger.  And while I don’t believe I’ve become an angry, bitter person, there is a definite edge that wasn’t there before.

I came here with such hopes of breaking out of a rut, of trying something new.  Pretty early on I realized this was not going to happen.  No, instead I was sinking deeper and deeper into a new rut.  I was working more than I ever had before with little to no breaks, in a negative environment.  Weekends?  Forget about it.  Unless I was out of town.  I wasn’t meeting people (unless you count people at work).  I could have been anywhere, I wasn’t exploring my new city.

I shy away from saying the decision to come here was a mistake because I believe any situation you can learn from adds to you, rather than subtracts.

What is all this leading up to?  I QUIT MY JOB!!!  Wow, that feels so good to say.  I quit my job!  Nope, still not old.  And I quit my job without another job lined up.  At some point I expect to completely freak out that I don’t have a job, but right now I am just basking in the fact I don’t have to go to my old job.

I’ve had a range of reactions to my news – anywhere from “I can’t believe you are being so irresponsible to quit without another job” to “You quit without another job?  That is so bada$$”.  I do like to think I’m a little bada$$.  This was not a decision I made lightly and a lot of thought went into it.  Considering how happy I still am, I know this was the right decision.

So what’s next?  I’m happy to say the travel part of Travel With Emily is about to go into full swing.  I’ve got a couple of small trips before heading to Australia.  Yes, Australia!!  Followed by one night in Bangkok (or a long layover) on my way to Sweden.  Wow!  (Any tips on Australia, Sweden or traveling in general are welcome!)

So that’s my big news.  Stay tuned for what is next.

This entry was posted in Sabbatical, St. Louis. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to On Sabbatical

  1. Jaime says:

    Wow! Congratulations!

    It’s not really anyone else’s business if you quit your job without another one lined up! I’m sure you know what you’re doing!

    I can’t wait to read about your travels. I’ve never been to any of those places, but I’ve been to Denmark, which is right below Sweden. Be prepared for the crazy daylight hours. I remember it being light out at 11:00 at night. I believe I was there in July, so if you’re going now, maybe the days will still be slightly shorter. Have a blast!

    • Emily says:

      I hope I know what I’m doing!! Ha!!

      Oh yeah – I forgot about those crazy daylight hours!! Good reminder. I went to Copenhagen a few years back and forced myself to wear eye shades at night it was so bright!! I won’t be there until late June (in time for the Nike 10K in Stockholm – yay!) so it’ll be crazy light.

  2. Jana says:

    Woohoo! Congratulations! You deserve a break and some time to focus on yourself. Enjoy it!

  3. kebe51 says:

    I’m so jealous of this! Not only that you’re in a position where you could actually do it, but that you had the guts to do it! Neither of which is me…although I wish it was. Good luck and have such an amazing (stress free) time on all your trips! (yeah, I’m jealous of those too)

    • Emily says:

      I’m still amazed I actually went through with it. I have been promising this to myself for a looooooong time but wasn’t sure if I would actually go through with it. It’s a little bit scaled back from what I originally planned (so I can actually afford it) but still I’m super excited to do it.

  4. Matt says:

    That’s Awesome!!! Have a Great couple of trips and good luck with you future plans. Now go out for a run and get fast again!

  5. Mara says:

    Congrats! There’s nothing worse than a bad work/job/career experience. I’ve done it before and I don’t understand how people can do it year after year (and still stay sane). You aren’t a child so you obviously thought this through and made a responsible decision for you. Good luck on your travels and on finding a job that is the right fit.

    • Emily says:

      Thanks!! Oh my gosh – my sanity was definitely in jeopardy. As much as I hate trying to find a new job, I’m super excited to find something new.

Leave a Reply

