2015 Tinker Bell Half Marathon

My first two coast to coast medals were when I did Tinker Bell and Princess.  However, at that time, runDisney didn’t offer a pink coast to coast medal.  It was introduced last year but sadly I wasn’t able to do Tink.  But then Tink weekend was moved!  Hooray!  Princess was a definite (since that is my race) and I figured I would sign up for Tink in case it worked.  And it did!

When I signed up, I really didn’t know (or realize) that it would mean my own mini coast to coast (after doing Expedition Everest the weekend prior).

Saturday morning I woke up super early to fly from San Francisco to LA.  Why was I in San Fran?  Well, that’s a story for another day.  After a mechanical issue followed by a traffic jam, we were finally in the air.  All in all, it ended up being over a 2 hour delay.  I was starting to panic that I wouldn’t get to the expo in time, but finally I was at the Disneyland Hotel!!

Gotta love the green screen

Gotta love the green screen

Sadly, most of the official merchandise was sold out (including the mugs and wine glasses – boo).  Oh well.

The remainder of Saturday was spent at California Adventures before heading back for an early night.  How early?  I was woken up by the fireworks!

Sunday morning came super early.  I do really like the Disneyland races as it means the mornings are not quite as early!  Heading into this race I wasn’t quite feeling it, so I was really hoping to find some Disney magic to get me through the race and I did in the form of Abby and her sister!!  (If you remember, I also ran Princess with these lovely ladies!)

This way to the start line

This way to the start line

Up until actually arriving at Disneyland, I kept thinking Tinker Bell was the same course as the Disneyland Half.  Fortunately I remembered that this was Tinker Bell and not the same.  In fact, I like the Tinker Bell course better than the Disneyland Half.  Although they did have to change the route through the parks slightly for all the construction.

Vidia!

Vidia!

And we were off!!  The sun was already starting to come up as we started.  The first mile passed by quickly and we were in the parks!!  I was happy to finally see Tink on the course (the line was ridiculous and so I passed, but I’m glad she was finally there!).

Little Pinky

Little Pinky

We left the parks and headed into the streets of Anaheim.  But first we went through Downtown Disney where the Red Hat Ladies were out in force!  I love running by them!

Argh!

Argh!

Honestly, while it was long and I was starting to hurt, it really was a ton of fun to run with Abby & A.  We had such a blast and I couldn’t have finished without them.

Love these girls!!

Love these girls!!

But there the finish line was!!  And the pink coast to coast medal was mine!!  Hooray!!

Almost there!

Almost there!

How did I celebrate?  With lots of ice cream, of course! 🙂  See ya real soon!

2015-05-10 21.05.21

Mmm, ice cream

 

This entry was posted in Race Report, runDisney and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to 2015 Tinker Bell Half Marathon

  1. Abby says:

    We love you and couldn’t have finished without you! Besides the fact I am in no shape for running, I did love this course. We might need to do it again. Can’t wait to see you again soon!

  2. Jaime says:

    I had so much fun running with you and Abby at Princess! We will have to do it again sometime. I was so jealous of everyone’s pictures of Tink weekend on social media. Maybe next year…

Leave a Reply

