Five Senses Friday

I’m pretty sure it’s Friday.  At least I’m pretty sure it’s Friday somewhere.  I’m currently in transit and not sure about what time it is, let alone what day it is!  I’m in the middle of an extremely long layover in Bangkok and initially I had thought about leaving the airport to see what I could see.  Our flight was slightly delayed and I decided not to force the trip into Bangkok and instead got a Thai massage at the airport!

I’m sad to see my time in Australia come to an end.  I had a fabulous time and would love to come back someday.

Feeling – absolutely petrified on my climb up Sydney Harbor Bridge.  The heights?  No, actually it was before we even got to the climbing part.  The path to get to the where the climb starts was super narrow and at times you had to climb through this very small openings.  I had an ill-fitting suit and completely freaked out at one point.  I don’t get claustrophobic often, but this would be the second time I’ve freaked in a tight space.

Halfway up!!  (post freak-out #1 and pre freak-out #2)

Halfway up!! (post freak-out #1 and pre freak-out #2)

Hearing – the history of the Sydney Opera House.  The tour was amazing!!  It really is an incredible building.

Ribs of the Sydney Opera House

Ribs of the Sydney Opera House

Smelling – the water!  Not only did we take a cruise around the harbor, but we took several ferry trips here there and everywhere.  Whenever I’m around large bodies of water, I’m reminded of how much of a water person I am.  I’ll blame at least part of it on being brought up so close to both the Puget Sound and Lake Washington.

On the way to Manly Beach

On the way to Manly Beach

Seeing – beautiful clocks in the Queen Victoria Building

Tick Tock

Tick Tock

Another clock

Another clock

Bonus shot - feet on the original tile that was preserved in the building

Bonus shot – feet on the original tile that was preserved in the building

Tasting – I did it.  I had both kangaroo and emu!!  The pizza was called the coat of arms (since both the emu and the kangaroo are Australia’s national animals).  The emu, eh but the kangaroo was pretty good.

Kangaroo & emu pizza

Kangaroo & emu pizza

This entry was posted in Australia, Travel and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Five Senses Friday

  1. Jaime says:

    I’ve loved seeing all of your pictures on Instagram! Looks like you’re having an incredible adventure.

Leave a Reply

