2015 Brooks Trailhead 10K

So much to recap…where do I start?  I’ve been told the beginning is a very good place to start!  Before I left on my trip, I was in Seattle.  Once I knew when I was going to be in Seattle I scouted out what races would be happening.  As it would happen, Brooks was holding a race with both a 10K and a 15K option.  I immediately signed up for the 15K!

However as it got closer, and I read more about the time limit, I decided to drop down to the 10K.  Plus I was going to be in a wedding the next day and still had a few errands to run.

I met Nilufer at the start line.  We started getting caught up while waiting for the start.

Waiting for the start

Waiting for the start

It was a rolling start, walkers, 15K elite, 10K elite, 15K regular and finally 10K regular.  The course started at Gasworks Park, which in my Seattle days, I spent many a day running in this area.

From Gasworks, the course is counterclockwise around Lake Union (the 15K had an additional out and back along the canal).  It was great weather and the views were amazing!  There were definitely a few ups and downs!  It is Seattle after all! 🙂  I wasn’t sure when I was going to be lapped by the 15Kers but all of a sudden someone blew by me.  A few runners later and I heard “Keep it up!”  I’m always so impressed when one of the super fast runners call out encouragement.

The volunteers were great and there were 2 water stops.

I hadn’t been running regularly so I wasn’t expecting too much time-wise.  I was hoping for around a 1:20 finish.  I finished in 1:20:49, so there you go!

FInishers!

Finishers!

This entry was posted in Race Report and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

