2015 Melbourne

Oh wow…. What a trip!  I’ll preface this with I know I can be wordy, so I’m going to try to be somewhat concise (but probably not much) and I’ll try to break this up into cities since again, I’m probably not going to be concise. But either way, grab a cuppa and sit back as we start to recap my “sabbatical”.

Going to Australia has been in the back of my head for several years. And with that was the knowledge that I really did not want to make that plane flight, at least not in economy class (aka sardine class). I slowly started paying with my airline credit card and saved and saved and saved my miles and literally took my balance to zero to get a business class ticket. It was so worth it! I mean, if you aren’t going to use miles for a 14+ hour flight, when are you? Not to mention, no longer having a job, it was fantastic not to have to “pay” for the flight.

I'll drink to that!

I’ll drink to that!

I lost Wednesday and since I’m not going back to the US after Australia, I will never get that day back! Oh well. We arrived in Melbourne on Thursday. Gray skies and rains greeted us. We knew (sort of) what we were getting into by going to Australia in their winter.

We found something to eat (there was a good restaurant, Trunk, right near our hotel) and the grocery store for water, Tim Tams (thanks again Kelly!!), and Vegemite before heading back to the hotel where we struggled to stay awake. I gave up the fight fairly early on.

Friday

Surprisingly, I slept most of the night (off and on).  It was still fairly early when I actually got out of bed.

Once we were ready, we walked several blocks over to the Queen Victoria Market, which began my love affair with Melbourne. (Guess what? Melbourne ended up being my favorite place we visited in Australia!)

Queen Vic Market

Queen Vic Market

The Queen Vic market is huge!!  You can get anything from a good cup of coffee (seriously Melbourne had fantastic coffee!!) to meat to cheese to bakery items to eggs to vegetables to clothes.  I could go on and on.

Lots and lots of produce!

Lots and lots of produce!

We wandered and wandered, picking up breakfast and a few other items.  If we’d had a kitchen, it would have been fun to pick up items to make for dinner.

Mmm, macarons!

Mmm, macarons!

Ever since our trip to Greece, Jessica has been somewhat enamored by street art.  In researching Melbourne we learned they had a number of laneways covered with street art.  Our next stop was to walk down to Hosier Lane and explore a few of the streets before grabbing lunch.

Hosier Lane

Hosier Lane

Rutledge Lane

Rutledge Lane

Flashback to Enchanted 10K Costumes

Flashback to Enchanted 10K Costumes

After lunch we walked down to the Shrine of Remembrance which offered great views from the top.  We finished up the day by meandering around Federation Square.

View of Melbourne from Shrine of Remembrance

View of Melbourne from Shrine of Remembrance

Saturday

We started off the morning at Hardware Societe, a super cute restaurant down a laneway (Hardware Street to be exact!).  We waited about 30 min for a table but it was worth it!  I couldn’t decide between sweet or savory and fortunately Jessica couldn’t either so I got sweet, she got savory and we split.  I had a delicious brioche but I can’t remember what Jessica had.  But it was good as well!

Delicious coffee at Hardware Societe

Delicious coffee at Hardware Societe

We then took the train out to Brighton Beach to visit the brightly colored bathing houses!!  It was so neat to see all the different colors and the different personalities of the houses.  Once we’d had our fill of the houses, we walked along the water back to St Kilda for dinner before heading back to Melbourne.

Brighton Beach

Brighton Beach

Brighton Beach

Brighton Beach

Brighton Beach

Brighton Beach

And that ends our short time in Melbourne….next stop Phillip Island!

Melbourne, along the river

Melbourne, along the river

Exploring Arcades in Melbourne

Exploring Arcades in Melbourne

Sinking Library

Sinking Library

Flinders Street Station

Flinders Street Station

This entry was posted in Australia, Sabbatical, Travel and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

