2015 Run 2 Cure Neuroblastoma

Its no secret I love to run races and I love to travel.  While I have previously had several US racecations, I had never thought to check and see about races for any of my international vacations.  And then I read about the Nike Women’s Series and adjusted my plans for Stockholm to take part in that race.  When I mentioned Stockholm to Nilufer, she asked about Australia and if there were any races there.  Why didn’t I think of that?!

Looking around for races, I was able to find the Run 2 Cure Neuroblastoma in Sydney, but it would mean juggling our travel dates by a day (in the end this turned out great because it allowed us to catch a show at the Sydney Opera House).

It was an early morning wake up our first morning in Sydney.  We made our way to the start line and enjoyed the pre-race warm up.

Warm Up

Warm Up

At the start line it became clear that most of these people were serious runners and there was a good chance we’d be last.  Again, its a somewhat silly fear, but a fear nonetheless.

Ready to go!

Ready to go!

The course (for the 10K) was to be two loops around Sydney’s Botanical Garden, by Mrs. Macquarie’s Chair.  I really wouldn’t have had any idea what I was in for except Kelly had already clued me in that Mrs. Macquarie’s Chair was where you could grab an iconic picture of the Sydney Opera House and the Sydney Harbor Bridge.

View of the harbor

View of the harbor

And go!  Sure enough, after the first turn we were towards the back, but we kept plugging along.  There were lots of ups and downs, but at the bottom of the first big down was the first glimpse of the water.

20150614_074053

The course was amazing – both along the water and through the Botanical Gardens.  Jessica, Nilufer and I got separated but that meant we got give each other high fives when the course turned around.

 

Second time around

Second time around

As I was nearing the finish line, the 5K was about to start.  This resulted in thunderous cheers for yours truly as I crossed the finish line!  It was pretty awesome!

Once we all finished (and none of us came in last!) we collected our medals and made our way back to the hotel to start our adventures in Sydney.  Stay tuned!

Finishers!!

Finishers!!

 

This entry was posted in Australia, Race Report, Sabbatical and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

