2015 Sydney Part 1

Saturday

We finally made it down to Four Mile Beach.  (Side question, why is it called Four Mile Beach when everything else is in kilometers?)

4 Mile Beach

Four Mile Beach

Soon it was time to leave and we began the trek back to Cairns to catch our flight to Sydney.

We arrived in Sydney just in time to drop our bags off at the hotel, grab dinner, and make our way to the Sydney Opera House.  In some ways we did plan our time in Sydney that well.  We missed Vivid Sydney and we just missed the opening of the Opera.  But we were able to catch a performance in one of the smaller theaters inside the Opera House.  We saw Lore by the Bangarra Dance Theater.  The performance was amazing!!

Going to see Lore

Going to see Lore

Sunday

Sunday morning was full of running a 10K.  After, we walked back along the water to our hotel.  We decided to keep it low-key today and decided to view Sydney from the water.  It was billed as a “tour” but there wasn’t much on the tour part.  However, the views were incredible!

Sydney Harbor Bridge

Sydney Harbor Bridge

Boat #selfie

Boat #selfie

Sydney Harbor

Sydney Harbor

We got off the boat to explore Manly Beach where we had some delicious fish and chips!

Manly Beach

Manly Beach

Fish and Chips

Fish and Chips

We finished off the night by visiting the Sydney Tower Eye.  While the view was amazing, and the green screen pics fairly entertaining, the overall experience was blah.

Green Screen Tower pic

Green Screen Tower pic

Monday

Cue the foreboding music.  The day started off fairly normal, although we had some interesting visitors at breakfast.

Right before one dive bombed Jessica's breakfast

Right before one dive bombed Jessica’s breakfast, glo

We had a light breakfast as we were headed to climb the Sydney Harbor Bridge!!!  I’m still not quite sure how this got put on our itinerary! 🙂

Climbing the bridge was a very time intensive endeavor.  First was signing the waiver followed by suiting up in a oh so fashionable jumpsuit.  This is where my problems started.  My jumpsuit was tighter than I would have liked and I started feeling closed in.  I asked the employee about it being tight and she just dismissed my concerns and told me I’d be fine.

We weren’t allowed to bring anything up with us, unless it was clipped onto our suit.  There was the safety belt/clip and attached to that was a fleece and a raincoat (just in case).  Other optional items to clip on were a hat, handkerchief, and gloves.  Top it off with a headset.

Then there was the practice run, up and down the ladders before we were finally ready to go.

The worst part (for me) was the beginning.  We were on a small platform and had to climb through these small archways.  I was feeling completely closed in and started freaking out.  Jessica turned around and asked how I was doing and barely got out words along the lines of “don’t talk to me, I’ll cry.”  I tried focusing on my breathing.  Breathe in, breathe out.  Take a step.  One more step.  Breathe.

Going up!

Going up!

Finally we made to the part where we actually climbed the bridge.  It was so much better.  No ceiling and the platform was wider.  I started calming down to try to enjoy the view.  Which was incredible.

At the top!

At the top!

What comes up, must come down.  I started panicking again knowing what was waiting for me at the bottom.  I continued breathing, barely holding on to my panic as we descended.

Don't look down

Don’t look down

We got to the bottom and I changed as fast as I could and got outside where I finally lost it.  If we’re looking for the positive side, I didn’t freak out completely (on the bridge anyway) and the view was incredible.  Now I have a story to tell…remember that time I freaked out while climbing the Sydney Harbor Bridge?

What do you do after your climb the Sydney Harbor Bridge?  Well, you eat kangaroo and emu pizza of course!

Coat of arms pizza

Coat of arms pizza

No joke – its called the coat of arms pizza since the kangaroo and emu are national animals of Australia!  It was interesting, the kangaroo was pretty good, the emu was a little gamey.

The rest of the afternoon, we walked around exploring first the Rocks and the downtown Sydney.  Our exploring led us to ice cream.  Shocking!

Ice Cream!!

Ice Cream!!

This entry was posted in Australia, Sabbatical and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

