2015 London

Sunday

LONDON!!!  One of my absolute favorite cities.  If you were to ask me why, I don’t know if I can put it into words.  I arrive in London and I feel as if I’m home – I’ve been an Anglophile for as long as I can remember.

As the plane descended, I looked at the window and saw The Tower of London, the London Eye, and Parliament.  It was just like the Peter Pan ride!!

Tower Bridge (in the distance)

Tower Bridge (in the distance)

We landed, boarded the Heathrow Express and soon were speeding our way to Paddington Station.  Being a creature of habit, I convinced Jessica that we needed to stay at the hotel I’ve stayed at several times (Copthorne Tara in Kensington).  Why do I love this hotel?  Its proximity to The Muffin Man!!

The Muffin Man

The Muffin Man

The Muffin Man is a cute little tea shop that Jana and I discovered on our first stay at Copthorne Tara.  It serves delicious cappuccino and paninis and scones.  After checking in to the hotel, we headed straight to The Muffin Man!!

Mmm, cappuccino!

Mmm, cappuccino!

Since it was my umpteenth time to visit London, and Jessica had previously only spent a few hours in London (on a layover), I let her determine the itinerary.  She had seen a picture of an umbrella ceiling at a restaurant near the Borough Market.  Sadly the Borough Market was closed, but fortunately we were able to find the umbrella ceiling!

Umbrella Ceiling

Umbrella Ceiling

Our next stop was the Tower Bridge!!

Tower Bridge

Tower Bridge

The final stop of the day was to explore the graffiti/street murals in Shoreditch.

Shoreditch Street Art

Shoreditch Street Art

Monday

The other place Jessica wanted to visit was Stonehenge.  We found a smaller tour that would take us to Stonehenge, Bath, and Windsor Castle (otherwise known as Rocks, Romans and Royals).  Its been awhile since I’ve been to Stonehenge so I was surprised when we passed by the site.  In the years since my last visit they tore down the old visitor center (across the street) and built a new one several miles away.  Shuttles run from the visitors center to Stonehenge.

Stonehenge

Stonehenge

Bath was our next stop.  We only had time to explore the baths (no Jane Austen this time) and grab lunch before jumping back on the bus.  Oh, and taste the waters in the Pump Room.  I do adore Jane Austen and the Regency time period.  The water is quite interesting (read: nasty).

Mmm

Mmm

Our last stop was Windsor Castle for a spot of tea with the Queen (who was in residence).  We didn’t have much time, but still were able to tour the church and the castle, oohing and ahhing over the giant dollhouse.

Windsor Castle

Windsor Castle

Before you knew it we were back on the bus and heading to London.

And so ends our month of travelling.  Its been fun reliving it!!

This entry was posted in London, Sabbatical, Travel, Trip Report and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

