2015 Detroit Half Marathon

Once upon a time, I foolishly thought this would be my PR attempt.  Instead it ended up being one of my slowest (non-Disney) times ever.  But I had a great time, and I finished.  Sometimes it is about the experience.  And this one had a lot of experiences.

Background…a (now former) co-worker told us about the Detroit Marathon and that not only did you get to run on a bridge and through a tunnel but the bridge would take you into Canada and the tunnel would take you back to the US.  Awesome!

With it being in the fall, I thought this would be the perfect time to try for a PR and the elusive 2:45 (yes I’m that slow).  My training started out okay, but throw in some trying to find a job stress, moving across the country, and a nagging foot pain and you have a recipe for a non-PR attempt.

Expo fun

Expo fun

We arrived in Detroit and were greeted by a surprise cold front.  We?  Oh, guess what?  Somehow Jessica was convinced (coerced?) into attempting the half!  And it wasn’t me that did the convincing.  No, it was the former co-worker who talked her into it.  Sadly she was not able to attend after convincing both of us to take on Detroit.

Ready to race

Ready to race

Saturday, in part, was spent in Target buying cold weather clothing.  It had gone from a prediction of around 50 degrees to around 32 degrees.  Brr!!

Here we go

Here we go

Standing in the starting corrals we were greeted with snow flurries.  Let me repeat that.  SNOW.  FLURRIES.  What the what?

Can you see the snow flurries?

Can you see the snow flurries?

The race started and I wished Jessica good luck.  I offered to run with her, but she didn’t want any pressure of running with someone, which I totally understand.

Right away, I realized I wasn’t going to be able to push too hard as I was trying to keep my cold weather induced asthma at bay.

We hadn’t gone too far and the Ambassador Bridge came into view.  The next few miles passed by in a blur, gazing a the bridge, crossing the bridge, and then gazing at the bridge again.  Have I mentioned I love bridges?  And this bridge was beautiful!  I really would like to go back and photograph it!  I may have taken a few pictures as I was crossing!

Almost to the bridge

Almost to the bridge

On the bridge

On the bridge

Other side of the bridge

Other side of the bridge

The next section of the course had us running along the river with views back across to Detroit.  A few times I thought about ditching my newly acquired gloves, but then I’d run by the water and realize I still needed the gloves!

Across to Detroit

Across to Detroit

Winding through Windsor, we came to the tunnel that would take us back across to the US.

Crossing from Canada back to the US

Crossing from Canada back to the US

Coming out of the tunnel, I realized I was probably not going to hit my usual goal of under 3 hours.  Oh well, I was going to finish and again, I didn’t want to aggravate my asthma.

Welcome back to the US

Welcome back to the US

The sun finally made an appearance, which helped take the edge of the cold.

The last few miles were a struggle but finally the finish line was insight.  I was going to walk to the 13 mile sign and run in the last tenth, but someone tapped me on the shoulder before and said let’s go so go I did!  Done!

Done!

Done!

And Jessica?  Not too far behind me!  Congrats to Jessica on finishing her first (and possibly only) half marathon!!

Two finishers!

Two finishers!

This entry was posted in Race Report, Race the States and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

