2015 Wine & Dine

What a race!!  It could be called the race that almost wasn’t, or the Wine & Dine Quarter Marathon, or the inaugural Wine & Dine 6.72 Miler.

Expo Fun

Expo Fun

Up until race time, it was similar to most of my Disney experiences – expo and park fun.  The hard part was with this being a night race, how to properly rest and fuel.  I was back at my hotel room in the afternoon, ate a meal (pizza!!), crossed my fingers that I hadn’t eaten too late or too early, and rested up until it was time to leave.

Green Screen fun

Green Screen fun

I arrived at ESPN Wide World of Sports, dropped my gear bag, and caught up with Abby, Jaime and Pam and the rest of their crew.  We were about to head towards the corrals when an announcement was made to evacuate due to inclement weather.  What?  I had seen lightning flashes throughout the evening and apparently they had gotten too close.

Here we go!

Pre-Lightning

We were ushered inside – which meant real bathrooms and a place to sit!  After about an hour we were told the race was back on!  Yahoo!!  However the course would be shortened.  Double Yahoo!!  Between the even later start (I didn’t start until 11:30 or so) and the humidity I was not sad that the course was shortened.  Especially when I found out we still got to run through Hollywood Studios and the Osbourne Lights!  (I did feel really bad for those who were there to run their first half.)

Waiting out the inclement weather

Waiting out the inclement weather

And finally we were off!!

3, 2, 1 Go!

3, 2, 1 Go!

I’ll admit – it was fun to see Mile 8 after only having gone a little over a mile.  It wasn’t long before we were in Hollywood and I came around the corner to the Osbourne Lights!!!

Osbourne Lights!

Osbourne Lights!

It was such a great experience to run through the lights.  As this was the last year for the lights, I was so glad I was able to experience them.

Yay for lights!!

Yay for lights!!

From there it was over to Epcot and the finish line.

MICKEY!!!

MICKEY!!!

Officially the course was 6.72 miles and honestly, it was a lot of fun.  More so for the people I was with – I mean what’s better than chatting and catching up with running friends?

Country Bears!!

Country Bears!!

Incredibles!!

Incredibles!!

We made our way into the after party and honestly, it wasn’t quite what I imagined it would be.  Being slow meant by the time I got in, the lines were atrociously long.  Oh so long.  I walked around the world and met up with an ex co-worker.  I tried to get a Dole Whip, but the machine was broken.  Boo.  And before you know it, it was almost 4 a.m. and time to head back to the hotel.

Who would have guessed the Starbucks line would be the shortest??

Who would have guessed the Starbucks line would be the shortest??

Will I do this race again?  I don’t know.  I keep going back and forth.  I am not a night race type of person, but yet, I want to give it a proper go and give the after party another chance.

This entry was posted in Race Report, runDisney and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to 2015 Wine & Dine

  1. kebe51 says:

    I know it’s hard to tell because of how this year went, BUT THIS IS THE BEST RACE YOU HAVE TO DO IT AGAIN!!!!! Admittedly, I do not know what status it will hold after the lights are gone, BUT STILL!

    I’m also bummed I didn’t get to see you! I wish I spotted you when you spotted me!

    • Emily says:

      I know!!!! Especially when the green army men were “around the corner” and I then I would have finally done push-ups!! (Until then I’m too chicken to do them by myself.) Someday maybe I’ll be fast enough to run with you!

      • kebe51 says:

        Awwwwwww that’s so sweet that you think you’re not fast enough to run with me (you could not be more wrong FYI!) but yes! Green Army men push-ups together!

  2. I’m sorry the after party wasn’t what you hoped it would be! I heard it was super crowded (probably because the course was shortened all the runners arrived during a smaller window of time). Like Kellie, this has always been my favorite! If you do it again, I hope it lives up to expectations–and the Dole machine works!!

    • Emily says:

      The more I think about, the more I am willing to give it another chance. And I bet you are right and the shortened course played a big role with the crowdedness!

  3. Jaime says:

    I’m FINALLY doing my recaps for W&D. I had the same feelings as you: I wanted this race to be awesome but the really late start and the horribly crowded after party diminished the fun, I think. But it was definitely fun hanging out with you guys- you always make races more fun!

    • Emily says:

      Hanging out with you guys was so the best part! I really want to do a runDisney race where it isn’t ridiculously hot. I still can’t decide if I’m going to do this race again…

Leave a Reply

