2015 Rock ‘N’ Roll Vegas

I find it slightly hilarious that even though I say I don’t like night races, this was my fourth of this year and second in a week!

A long time ago (possibly in a galaxy far away) this was going to be a girls weekend and an excuse to go see Britney!!  It was still a girls weekend, but smaller than originally planned.  It ended up being the Three Musketeers again (i.e. Nilufer, Jessica, and myself).

Three Musketeers

Three Musketeers

We met up Friday morning and hit up the expo.

Expo Fun

Expo Fun

And then got gussied up for a night out for BRITNEY!!  Did I mention we were going to see Britney??  Now, you may not know this about me (or actually you might) but I love pop music.  Especially bubblegum, teen pop.  A night singing along with Britney to Britney songs was A-MAZE-ING!  She’s definitely still got it.  And her dancers were awesome.

20151113_230622_resized

We took Saturday fairly easy.  I had lunch with my aunt who lives in Vegas.  Nilufer and I went to Mystere and met up with Jessica after to have dinner at the Mesa Grill (Bobby Flay’s restaurant).

Ready for the show

Ready for the show

Sunday.  Race Day.  While this was my fourth night race of the year, I still really haven’t mastered proper fueling for night races.  We decided on brunch, hoping eating all the things early enough would tide us over.

Brunch over, we headed back to the room to chill.  Jessica was doing the 10K, which started earlier and in a different spot (but it finished where the half and full where finishing).  We did a group picture and said goodbye and good luck to Jessica.

Ready to go!

Ready to go!

Then it was our turn!  We boarded the shuttle and drove the wrong way down the Strip!!  After being dropped off, we headed over to Mandalay Bay to use the real bathroom.  I said goodbye to Nilufer (who was starting in an earlier corral) and went to my corral.

Almost time

Almost time

The wind was definitely starting to kick up and the temperatures started to drop.  And then the rain started.

Finally it was my turn to go!!

Go!

Go!

Down towards the Las Vegas sign and back up the Strip.  It really is such a great race.  When else do they shut down the Strip!!?!  Oh yeah, New Years.

Welcome to Vegas

Welcome to Vegas

The wind was brutal.  Absolutely brutal.  At times (leaving the protection of the buildings) it was hard to tell if you were even moving forward.

The Strip

The Strip

After playing hide and seek with the Stratosphere, finally I caught back up to it and the lights of the Strip were in view again!

Stratosphere

Stratosphere

At this point, I was tired, both from the time of night and from fighting the wind.  My foot, which has been bothering me on and off, really started bothering me.  I was contemplating sitting on the curb and crying but I knew the finish line was just ahead.

Done!!  I grabbed a heat sheet and a water but I was so cold I didn’t drink the water and instead just held onto it (cue foreboding music).

Done!

Done!

The finish line chute was super long but finally I was out and headed back to the hotel.  Even with the heat sheet, I wasn’t getting warm.  I walked through the hotel towards the elevators and as I approached the elevators, the blood drained from my face, and I had a buzzing noise in my head/ears and I knew I was this close to passing out. I leaned up against the wall but knew that wasn’t going to help and started sliding down the wall, before my legs gave out.

The security guard at the elevator saw me and had me sit down on a chair by him.  He kept talking to me and asking how I was doing.  I figured if I just sat the feeling would pass.  But it didn’t.  I called Jessica and Nilufer to let them know.  At this point it had probably been 10 – 15 minutes and the dizziness and ringing in my ears was not going away.  I finally had the security guard call the EMT who basically said I was dehydrated and to drink water or electrolytes and see if that helped.  The problem was I could barely hold my head up without getting more dizzy, but I attempted to get down some water and Gatorade.

When I was able to move without feeling as if I was going to pass out, we made our way up to the hotel room.  I ate some very salty French fries and tried to get warm.  When a hot shower, didn’t quite do the trick, I got under the blankets with a heat sheet!!

A race in Vegas needed some drama right?  Even though this wasn’t my best race (by far!!), it still was a great race and I highly recommend it!!

This entry was posted in Race Report, Rock 'N' Roll and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to 2015 Rock ‘N’ Roll Vegas

  1. kebe51 says:

    Oh my goodness! That’s so scary! I’m glad you are OK! Woman…DRINK YOUR WATER NEXT/EVERY TIME!

    Glad to hear it was a great race despite all the issues!

    • Emily says:

      It really is an amazing race!! I know, moral of the story, always drink your water!! I’m usually so good at that and I had water and Gatorade at every water stop. I think it was a combo of everything but definitely scary!!

  2. Abby says:

    Girlfriend! BE CAREFUL!

    I loved that race last year. It is such a good girls weekend race. I feel like this night race starts at a decent time- aka NOT 10PM- so it’s not as terrible.

Leave a Reply

