2015 Holiday 5K

How in the world did it get to be December?  And the middle of December at that?

A co-worker told me about the Holiday Half & 5K.  I thought once or twice about the half, but realized that would just be silly and so I signed up for the 5K.

As I made my way to the start line, I realized that I was really looking forward to this race as a way to judge where I am at, running-wise.  The last couple of half marathons I’ve done I’ve fallen apart.  Not to mention the lack of consistent training (or cross-training for that matter).  (The last couple of 5Ks I’ve done with others so I haven’t really been able to judge myself.)

IMG_20151213_075315[1]

At the start line

The race started on an uphill, but since it finished in the same spot (but in the opposite direction, so a downhill) I wasn’t going to complain too much.  I would much rather have the uphill at the beginning!

There wasn’t any seeding per se, but more of a request for the speedy folks up front and the rest of us in the back.  I made my way to the middle trying to seed appropriately.  Generally I start out WAY too fast and lose speed throughout the race.  But by being in the middle of this giant throng of runners, it actually kept my pace at a more consistent level.  Maybe there is something to that!

I’ve been playing with my intervals and recently changed them to 1:30 / 45 sec.  This was my first real test of the intervals in a race.

After that first uphill the course flattened out for the most part.  There were no aid stops for the 5K, but there was a caroler stop!  The course wound us through neighborhoods and then out along a road with views of the river.

Before you knew it, we were rounding the corner for the DOWNHILL finish!  Going into the race, I really debated with setting a time goal for myself.  Partly because I didn’t want to disappoint myself if I couldn’t hit it.  But then again, I was trying to judge where I am at, running-wise.  I had thought I would be happy with anything under 40 minutes.  I came across at 38:38.  I’ll take that.

Since this has already gone on too long, I’ll sum it up by saying, I don’t know that I’ve lost that much speed, but I have lost a lot of endurance.  Maybe its time I find a training plan that I can actually stick to!

20151213_090820[1]

This entry was posted in Race Report, Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to 2015 Holiday 5K

  1. Jaime says:

    Sweet medal! Especially for a 5K. I like your outfit, too. 🙂

Leave a Reply

