Word for 2016: Fight

I still haven’t done a wrap-up for 2015, and I imagine I’ll get to it eventually.  At the moment I don’t have real internet (its coming next week!!).  So posting is slightly complicated, especially if pictures are involved.

But on this, the first day of 2016, I wanted to share my word for the year.  I’ve participated word of the year (or one little word) off and on, usually more at the beginning of the year.  I tend to lose sight of it as the year goes on.  We shall see how this year progresses.

When I started thinking about a word for 2016, the word that kept coming to me was fight.  Fight?  Really?  But I couldn’t escape it.  As much as I tried to find another word, fight put up a good fight against being cast aside.  Okay, so fight it is.

As I started thinking about my word, it began revealing itself to me.  I have a new job and I am living in a new place.  I am an introvert by nature and can disappear quite easily.  I don’t like change, and I have serious anxiety issues when meeting people.  I have to fight for myself in this new space – not so much in a conflict sense, but more in a effort sense.  Or in a nothing comes easy sense.  I may have to work hard, but its going to be worth it.  Also in fight to not let history repeat itself.  When I moved to St Louis, it was so negative that I lost myself and didn’t fight.  All my energy was directed toward surviving.  I don’t want that to happen again.

Fight.  I think my first fight is going to be to find a yoga class and start going regularly.  I haven’t practiced yoga (other than here and there) since I moved to St Louis.  I miss it.  It may be small, but its a first step in carving out a space for me.

What’s your word for 2016?

This entry was posted in one little word, Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Word for 2016: Fight

  1. Jaime says:

    I gotta say- you’re pretty brave for someone that doesn’t like change! You take all sorts of risks! I don’t like change, either, so kudos to you for taking risks and trying new jobs and cities.

Leave a Reply

