Brought to you by the Word Whole and the Number 30

Hello out there in blog land!  There are races to recap and foot issues to discuss but I’m not here to talk to you about any of that.

Instead I’m here to tell you that I am on Day 7 of Whole30!  I have been toying with the idea of Whole30 for a while now, mainly as an overall reset.  You may be asking – what finally prompted me to take the plunge?

I’m sure it comes as no surprise that the last few years have been slightly stressful.  After all, I’m sure I’ve complained at least once or twice (or a hundred) times about it.  All the stress apparently caught up to me and manifested itself in some interesting ways.  The lack of sleep and the weight gain, while not welcome, were understandable.  Especially as I’m now learning sleep plays a huge part in weight loss.  The acid reflux and other GI issues were new, but if you consider everything, also very valid reactions.  What I can’t quite figure out is why now?  Now that the stress is less and I’m not longer in a super negative environment, why do I have all these symptoms?  (My guess is since I am no longer in survival mode my body decided it could rebel.)

As part of my GI issues, I did a food allergy test.  The result?  Eggs and whey (as in dairy).  Or as in Little Miss Muffet who sat on a tuffet eating her curds and whey.  Seriously?  No more ice cream?  No more pizza?  Let’s pause while I go cry.

My doctor thought it would be good to do an elimination diet to see how I feel after eliminating both dairy and eggs.  For whatever reason, an elimination diet seemed overwhelming to me.  I talked to her about the possibility of Whole30 and she thought it was a great idea (minus the eggs).  I bought the book and began reading up on the program.

My biggest stumbling blocks were 1) my kitchen is still in a lot of boxes and 2) finding the time (as I’m still working a decent amount of hours).  I scoured the interwebs for easy recipes that I would eat (and could easily make).  Confession: I am intimidated by cooking in general.

I will (try) and update  you on my progress, but if nothing else, share the results of my journey.  In the meantime, my instagram account will be sadly lacking in ice cream pictures for a while.

20150621_190203

One last ice cream pic…

 

One of my bigger worries heading into this (besides you know, no sugar at all) was drinking black coffee.  I like a little bit of coffee with milk and flavors!  However, I discovered Whole30 compliant coffee creamers!!  Hallelujah!

For those who have done Whole30 – feel free to share any favorite recipes or tips on surviving!!

This entry was posted in Whole30. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

