2016 Hero-Up Half

I’d like to start off this race recap by spoiling the ending and I say I PR’d the heck out of this race!!  I love surprise unexpected PRs (well maybe not so unexpected as I have been training really consistently and throw in Whole30 and cooler temps on top of that).  On to the nitty-gritty details…

I decided to do this race literally the day before.  Or actually, the night before.  As in I was dreading my 11 miles on the calendar (why I don’t know as I had completed a half the week before), so had the brilliant idea to see if any races were happening that weekend that I could use as a training run.  Because again, training runs with spectators, water stops and medals are much better for my motivation!

This one popped up and looked fairly low-key and it had race day sign up!  Decision made.  My plan was similar to last week – 1:1s until mile 11 and then slow it down.

I showed up bright and early to register and then used the “real” park bathrooms.  Park bathrooms are better than port-o-potties in my book!  The theme for this race was heroes and it was fun to look at all the costumes!

20160903_072200

And we were off!  The course was slightly familiar as it took place on some of the same roads as the Ladybug 10K I had done not too long ago.  

The weather was significantly cooler than it had been, which I loved!  I was definitely towards the back of the pack but I tried to keep at least a few people within my sights.  

I don’t remember too much about the specifics – a mix of sidewalks, neighborhoods, and paved trails.  The volunteers were great and very vocal.  Around mile 8 I finally could spot a few runners ahead of me that I thought I might be able to catch.  And I did!  

I was really feeling good but I was still committed to slowing down at mile 11.  That is until I hit mile 11 and glanced at my watch which showed me at around 2:17 and change.  I quickly did race math (which is not a strong suit of mine) and realized that I might actually PR if I kept up my intervals.  I took a deep breath and went for it, simultaneously trying to speed up but keep an even, sustainable effort.  I spotted a few more racers in front of me and picked them off one by one.  I hit mile 12 and glanced at my watch.  2:30  Not only was a PR in reach but the elusive 2:45 was also right there!  

I chanted 2:45 over and over to myself.  Was this really happening?  

The last little bit was super twisty (the course had gone over and back on this stretch a few times).  I saw the finish line and found a burst of speed!  Done!!  With a time of….2:43:16.  Wow.  I have chased 2:45 for so long.  My previous PR was 2:47:09 from 2013.  It was such a good feeling.  I had been debating chasing a PR in October (at the Portland Half) but having this surprise PR takes all the pressure off.

20160903_102254

Now I’m really ready for Paris!

20160903_102652

This entry was posted in Race Report and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to 2016 Hero-Up Half

  1. kebe51 says:

    Congratulations! Surprise PRs are the best! That’s actually how I got mine/finally hit sub 2:30. I signed up as a training run for Goofy and then “accidentally” PRed! Way to kick butt and take names! 🙂

    • Emily says:

      Thanks!! I think not having the (self induced) pressure to PR really helped. It’s good to finally feel like I’m moving forward instead of backwards!!

Leave a Reply

