2016 Wine & Dine Half

Last year’s Wine & Dine as an experience to say the least with the delayed start due to storms.  As I crossed the finish line I debated a re-do but was on the fence.  I am not a late night race person.  Well I’m actually not a late night person in general.  Vegas RnR I don’t mind since it starts more in the afternoon.

But a few things happened along the way.  First, it became a morning race!  Yahoo!  I realize that what made Wine & Dine unique was the nighttime aspect, but again, it really wasn’t for me.  And second, my Disney BFF Michelle’s husband Jason wanted to run it (it was his first half).  A chance to hang out with my BFF at Disney?  Yes, please!

As many times as I say I am done with challenges, I found myself signing up for Lumiere’s challenge – it was Lumiere!  I wasn’t too creative with my costumes either – recycling my Belle costume from Paris, and my Daisy costume from last year’s Wine & Dine.  Costume might be too strong of a word.  Its more of a hint of the character, rather than an elaborate costume.

 

20161104_111445

Sparkle Athletic Booth is always a must-do!

 

I won’t bore you too much with details of the 10K course, since it is the same as the Princess course although the end was slightly different, in that we re-entered Epcot by Canada (I think?) before finishing.  And to say I found Abby!  Best part of Disney races are catching up with friends!

 

wdwrundisney_wdwmaracoursecharacter9_20161104_7851303526

Running with Abby is my favorite!

 

20161105_071859

Boardwalk

 

 

I was excited for the half course, as it would be different than Princess.  They did have to modify it due to the construction at Hollywood however.  I met up with Jason and we met Mickey & Minnie while waiting.  I also ran into Kellie!

 

wdwrundisney_wdwmaracoursecharacter3_20161106_7852834519

Almost go time

 

I loved the Animal Kingdom part of the course!  Which sadly was over before you knew it and then it was roads.  But it was different roads!

 

20161106_072402

Obligatory Mile 7 pic

 

They had fun characters out.  I didn’t wait for any as the lines were super long.  Someday I’ll be fast enough to wait in short lines!  I did catch up with Kellie & her crew and ran with them for a bit.

 

20161106_073835

Kellie!!

 

The course caught back up to the Princess course as the sun started to come out.  The last several miles were brutal with the sun.

I found a short character line with Clarabelle & Horace as we were entering Epcot.

 

wdwrundisney_wdwmaracourseicon3_20161105_7852356689

 

And before you know it, I was across the finish line with a new Disney PR of 2:58:42!  Granted, when you only make a few photo stops, it helps with the race time! 🙂

 

mk_partleft_20161108_7854540130

My new pretties!

 

epcot_ecentr2_20161107_7853211776

Best race crew!!! 

 

 

This entry was posted in Race Report, runDisney and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to 2016 Wine & Dine Half

  1. Abby says:

    Love running with you, lady! So sad we missed you for the half.

Leave a Reply

