2017 Big Cottonwood Canyon 10K

My dear blog readers!!  And my poor neglected blog!  I keep having grand ideas of getting caught up, but no luck so far.  I’m going to skip around here, and you’ll soon see why this one is first!

 

20170513_055741 - Copy

Brr!  Thank goodness for coffee!

 

Once upon a time, as in last year, I said to myself, I’d really like to PR my 10K.  And guess what?  I did just that!  The fact the race was mostly downhill may have played a teeny tiny roll in the PR.  By teeny tiny I mean it had everything to do with the fact the race was mostly DOWNHILL!  I really should do all my races downhill.  Ha!

What was this magical race?  Not only was it my 14th race of 2017, but it was in a new state (UT) and I got a PR!!  Can I say PR a few more times?

Jessica & I have talked about going to Utah for while to visit a national park or two.  Which is how this trip started.  Due to scheduling issues and other things the national parks were not going to be in the works this trip, but a race was!  Big Cottonwood Canyon lined up perfectly with our travel plans and I signed up!

 

20170513_060412 - Copy

Beautiful scenery

 

It was a point to point race down Cottonwood Canyon, with a half, 10K, or 5K option.  Originally I was planning on the half but when it worked out I could do Tink (!!) I opted for the 10K.  Our hotel was literally across the street from the finish.  The finish was also where we were picked up and bussed up to the start line.

It was super dark when I caught the shuttle.  The start line was along the side of the road, however they had coffee and cocoa while we waited.  The views were amazing!  The sun was coming up by the time we started.

I didn’t have a real plan going into this race.  I knew it was downhill and  should take advantage of that.  In the end I decided to play it by ear – I wouldn’t go more than 3 intervals without taking a walk break.

 

20170513_062726 - Copy

Almost go time!

 

GO!  We were off down the hill.  It was amazing!  The first mile went super fast, as did the second mile.  It was part way through the third mile that the thought of a PR entered my head and exited fairly quickly.  Apparently I had dropped my phone a ways back!  Oh no!  As I turned around to see if I could find it, another runner came up behind me and handed me my phone.  Hallelujah!!  PR attempt back on!

 

20170513_065408 - Copy

Down the canyon

 

Soon we were out of the canyon and onto a trail near the river  I can’t say enough about the gorgeous course.  It had flattened out by then.  I tried not to keep watching my watch…but it was hard.   My current 10K PR was 1:14.   The time kept ticking down.  Race math is not my forte but I was starting to feel confident I was going to break 1:14.

And there it was!  The finish line!!  I went across the line with a huge smile on my face….and a time of 1:08:06!

 

20170513_075516

Done!!

 

IMG_20170513_095853_686 - Copy

Matchy matchy is the best

 

 

 

This entry was posted in 40 in 2017, Race Report, Race the States and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

